Don’t Delay, Start Again Today!

Like sand through the hourglass...

Like sand through the hourglass…

Well, several weeks have passed since New Years’ Day and I’m sure we’re all continuing to power along with this years’ life-changing resolutions…  Pfft!  Hahahahahahaaa!!

Sadly, now that the initial rush of excitement is over, the new exercise machine, blender, sports shoes, gym membership, nicotine patches, diet books etc. are either being used sporadically, or have been kicked under the bed where they’ll gather dust until this years’ pre-Xmas cleanout.

To be honest, I quite like the idea of a fresh start.  In fact, I like it so much, that I generally make a fresh start at least once a week; until I can stick to my resolve to stop giving up so easily.

Among my numerous resolutions this year, I vaguely recall vowing to swear less, and be a much more tolerant driver.  But dammit, it’s not flamin’ easy when our roads are filled with impatient, stupid, selfish, half-blind, non-indicator using idiot swine!

Fortunately, the one goal I did manage to achieve last year was to survive 2013, which I accomplished without really even thinking about it.  Unfortunately, some of my friends didn’t, and had any of them known that last year was going to be their final year on Planet Earth, I reckon they would have done things a little differently.  They probably wouldn’t have pre-ordered a Xmas hamper for starters.

So any attempt to improve yourself, your situation, your job, or your ‘anything’ shouldn’t be delayed until some future date.  Start now!  Actually, wait til you’ve finished reading the paper, then go nuts.

Whatever it is you decide to do, or stop doing, you go for it!  And if it doesn’t work out, well, try again as soon as possible.  Don’t wait til January next year, because by then it may be too late to change.

Leave a comment

Filed under Gladstone Observer Columns

Leave a Reply

