Daily Archives: April 26, 2011

Anna Bligh is coming to Gladstone – but not by road…

Last week the Gladstone Observer informed us that the Premier was coming to Gladstone for a 3 day visit.  Unfortunately details of where she will be holding meetings, forums and Q&A sessions haven’t been forthcoming.  I’m not surprised, I’m a Qld’er, we’re used to being told nothing…

Like not being told before the election that our leaders were planning to sell off State owned assets: Qld Rail, and State Forests to private interests (I’ve already posted on this topic here: https://gladbloke.wordpress.com/2010/04/30/did-bligh-lie/  )

Yes, I’m still angry about it.  As a long term Labour supporter (who is now considering Anarchy the only viable political option I’ve got left!) I’ve been appalled at the world wide trend of what used to be the ‘Workers Party’ to swing so far to the right spectrum of politics that we are basically voting for a slightly pink version of the blue Liberal/Conservative parties.  Tony Blair, Obama, Kevin Rudd, Julia Gillard, and Anna Bligh have as much empathy, and similarity, to the working classes they purport to represent as a fox does towards chickens.  They only appear to be interested in meeting with business representatives and lobbyists (and possibly charging accordingly).  Anna’s comments in the paper prove this:  “I’m looking forward to spending some time in the area, meeting with the area’s business leaders…”  http://www.gladstoneobserver.com.au/story/2011/04/20/annas-coming-town/

Trust is a fragile thing.  And if you have proven that you are unable to be trusted, and have lied about your true intentions, and worst of all, are prepared to sell out your own principles, then you my friend, are someone I don’t want in my home, or any part of my life. 

So, this week, if given the chance, I hope to stand up with others in my home town who hold similar views.  No big change ever occurred without the courage of a principled few who decided that ‘Enough is Enough’.  It didn’t come from compromising your principles and treating your followers with contempt.

Many long term Labor folk I know have all but given up on the politics at all levels, but I think this is playing into their hands.  When people shut themselves off from the political process, the powers that be (Left or Right) will continue to treat the ‘sheeple’ with continued contempt, without any fear of reprisal, or reprimand. 

Until an election looms 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Life & Thoughts