Fire Training In Perth

As a lad, I wanted to be a ‘firey’, and last week I was given a crash course in fire training at the ERGT training facility south of Perth ( web site:  http://www.ergt.com.au/ ).

The trainers, Gav, Nathan, Arek, Nathan and Ben were brilliant, and the course was more hands on than theory, which was a far cry from any other previous fire training I’d done, and certainly gave the training a ‘we don’t f*ck around’ element.  Particularly on the last day when we had to use all the skills we’d learned in the previous two days to enter burning buildings to fight fires and rescue victims (funny how light those rescue dummies became when the adrenalin was pumping!) 

Most of the other trainees were oil rig workers, and it was fascinating listening to their stories about life on the rigs during our breaks.  But after three days I decided on two things: 

1.  I don’t want to work on oil rigs, and,

2.  I no longer want to be a ‘firey’ 🙂 

These two shots were taken by my new mate Sam. 

For some reason I had an urge to pour a jug of water down the front of my pants then walk about flapping my arms crying "Wah, Wah, Wah!"

 

My 'Boys Own' adventure becomes reality...

2 Comments

Filed under Out & About

2 responses to “Fire Training In Perth

  1. SJH

    Back to the Golden West again eh GB….you have the knack of getting flown over there for “Company Business” down pat obviously! Bet LSW and the petticoat brigade made the most of it as well!

    Say hello to Long Grain for me when you see him if you could please.

    Nice PPE!
    Cheers, SJH

  2. gladbloke

    Hey Stevo,
    Yeah, I can’t seem to stay away from the place! It’s still a nice part of the world, but that flight over, and the ‘red eye’ coming back… never again!

    Next time I’ll demand a stopover in Adelaide 🙂

    Cheers mate,

    Gb

Leave a Reply

