Mondays’ Column – No Show

Well, I stuffed up.  Ok there are extenuating circumstances, but at the end of the day, I dropped the ball on the goal line.  Todays’ column was a re-run, my submission last week didn’t make it to the paper on time. 

Current Direction of Reliability 😦

When I first started this column, one of my goals (apart from becoming fabulously rich and famous, and living on a tropical island) was to maintain a record for reliability. 

I’ve often seen re-runs used by other columnists, who for one reason or another, failed to get a column in on time.  Note:  when re-runs are getting used, it is usually a sign that the columnist is a) on holidays, b) running out of ideas, c) losing their enthusiasm, or d) been arrested.  Either way, it’s not a good sign.  Many times the re-runs have signalled the end of the columnists run.  Not a bad thing, as it gives others’ a chance to step in for a while and have a go.

So, I’ve worked hard to maintain focus, enthusiasm, and a clean criminal record.  And in 18 months, my efforts have been very successful.  Then today, I waddled down to the corner store, bought the paper and noted that my column was an old one.  A re-run!  I was stunned.

And the Phantom still hasn’t rescued his Missus, AND, the Trevor cartoon is still MIA.   

Back home, I fired up my computer and found an email sent yesterday afternoon from the paper asking urgently for the column.  Had I not gone to the beach, then come home and fallen asleep…

Anyway, a quick check of my Sent folder revealed that the attachment didn’t attach when I sent it Friday afternoon.  There are a couple of reasons for this, but at the end of the day, me being a ‘slack arse’ is the main cause. 

I’ve been having drama with my emails for a couple of weeks, and should have known better than to click Send without checking immediately afterwards if the attachment had gone as well.  I had a near miss not long ago, but was able to get the column in before the deadline.  

My system failure was caused by Human Error.  Mine.  Anyway, the milk has been spilt, now it’s time to focus on cleaning up the mess, and making sure it doesn’t happen again.

If all goes well, this will be the last time I write this sort of entry…  I hope.

2 Comments

Filed under Gladstone Observer Columns

2 responses to “Mondays’ Column – No Show

  1. narnie

    Slack arse 🙂

    Check for a pm. Unsure if it went.

  2. gladbloke

    Hiya Narnie,

    Yeah, what was I thinking relying on modern technology!! I’m one more stuff up from walking my columns up to the newspaper office. My hand written columns that is… with a pencil 🙂

    Cheers,

    Gb

Leave a Reply

