When I Grow Up I Want to Be A…

I have a mate, (Hi Rob) who I met years ago in a job down in Brisbane.  He was in his late 40’s at the time, and I learned that he’d been around a bit…  to say the least.  One day he made me laugh my head off when he said, “You know what, I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up?” 

I’m not laughing anymore.

Since I left high school waaaay back in ’83, I’ve had a succession of jobs.  Mostly they’ve been hot, dirty, heavy, and dusty.  Occasionally they’ve been fantastic and I’ve learned a few things:

1.  The good jobs don’t make the papers.

2.  The best jobs pay crap wages.

3.  Most bosses would sacrifice their own children to make themselves look good, or to save a $, so don’t even think for a moment that they’re on your side.

4.  The willing donkey gets loaded up until he collapses, then is flogged some more just to see if he is skiving. 

5.  Promoting your good workers will leave you with a crew full of crap workers.  Don’t promote your good workers.  Instead, get rid of your crap workers by promoting them off your team. 

Cynical?  Me?!  Naah.

Actually, I’m not 🙂  I decided long ago to abide by the rules, where possible, and make my own way in the workaday world.  Keep your head down, lay low, do your best, do a little bit more, then go home safe and sound.  It’s been a good policy.  It’s paid the bills and allowed me and my family to have a little discretionary income to buy the odd trinket, or take a  holiday, which helps keep us sane for most of the year. 

But there’s been some changes at work recently (Welcome to the Rio Tinto Family), and I’ve started thinking of late, “How much more of this crap are they going to dump on us?  Is this where I want to be in 10 years time?  Or 5?  Or hell, even next week?” 

Which lead me to start getting serious about my Dream Job.  And, what, you may be asking is my Dream Job? 

Before I answer that, in my last entry I wrote about doing work experience on the tug boats.  It was, and is a fantastic job, or I think it would be.  But I’ve learned that ALL jobs have a Price.  All jobs have a downside along with an upside.  I wonder what the tugs downside is?  It is this type of thinking that keeps most of us in jobs we don’t really like… well, that and the crippling debt, and fear of losing the weekly pay packet, and subsequently your house, your car, your marriage, and access to the beer fridge (with the small packets of chocolate stuffed behind the cans of dog food).   

So what is my dream job?  Well, to be a full time Writer.  Unfortunately, breaking into the writing game is a tad harder than say, starting some job where they hand you a shovel, point to a pile of crud and let you loose for 40 hours a week.  So, it’s been a long haul to get a foot in the door.  A door that is getting increasingly harder to find, let alone enter.  

But, having started out on this quest last year, I intend to see it through… or die trying… well, maybe go into an extended coma… or perhaps just lose a toenail. 

I’ll keep you posted on my progress.     

For those of you who are regular followers (Hello YOU!) I haven’t heard about my application at the museum yet.  Will let you know when I find out. 

And now, back to my novel…

1 Comment

Filed under Writing

One response to “When I Grow Up I Want to Be A…

  1. Hi, interesting post. I have been thinking about this issue,so thanks for posting. I will certainly be coming back to your posts.

Leave a Reply

